Skip to main content
Daughters of the Resistance

Daughters of the Resistance

Current price: $16.99
Publication Date: December 7th, 2021
Publisher:
HQ Digital
ISBN:
9780008364878
Pages:
352
Balin Books
1 on hand, as of Feb 25 6:12am
On Our Shelves Now

Description

A heart-wrenching novel of love, resilience and courage in World War II, from the author of Sisters of War - perfect for readers who loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The German Midwife.

Ukraine, 1943

On a train from Ukraine to Germany, Lisa Smirnova is terrified for her life. The train is under Nazi command, heading for one of Hitler's rumoured labour camps. As she is taken away from everything she holds dear, Lisa wonders if she will ever see her family again.

In Nazi-occupied Kiev, Irina Antonova knows she could be arrested at any moment. Trapped in a job registering the endless deaths of the people of Kiev, she risks her life every day by secretly helping her neighbours, while her husband has joined the Soviet partisans, who are carrying out life-threatening work to frustrate the German efforts.

When Lisa's train is intercepted by the partisans, Irina's husband among them, these women's lives will take an unimaginable turn. As Irina fights to protect her family and Lisa is forced to confront the horrors of war, together they must make an impossible decision: what would they be willing to lose to save the people they love?

****

Readers loved Sisters of War:

'Oh my heart Such a beautiful story. Can't wait to read it again ' Amazon reviewer
'Made me feel every single emotion' NetGalley reviewer
'Captivating from the first page' Amazon reviewer
'A powerful and hard-hitting novel' Deborah Swift, author of The Lady's Slipper
'A gorgeous love story that keeps you hooked' Amazon reviewer
'Pulled at my heartstrings and brought tears to my eyes. You really must read this book' Amazon reviewer
'A whirlwind journey, full of emotions' Heather Osborne, author of Bitter Bonds

About the Author

LANA KORTCHIK grew up in two opposite corners of the Soviet Union - a snow-white Siberian town and the golden-domed Ukrainian capital. At the age of sixteen, she moved to Australia with her mother. Lana and her family live on the Central Coast of NSW, where it never snows and is always summer-warm, even in winter. She loves books, martial arts, the ocean and Napoleonic history. Her short stories have appeared in many magazines and anthologies. She is the author of the USA Today bestselling Sisters of War.