Skip to main content
The Camp: A Thrilling Novel of Suspense with a Shocking Twist

The Camp: A Thrilling Novel of Suspense with a Shocking Twist

Current price: $16.95
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Publisher:
Zebra
ISBN:
9781420155686
Pages:
432
Balin Books
1 on hand, as of Apr 14 3:13am
On Our Shelves Now

Description

Perfect for readers of Riley Sager and Grady Hendrix, a chilling new read from the New York Times bestselling author where a diabolical modern twist on Friday the 13th meets Yellowjackets at a summer sleepaway camp isolated in the woods of Oregon.

There are always stories told around the fire at summer camp—tall tales about gruesome murders and unhinged killers, concocted to scare new arrivals and lend an extra jolt of excitement to those hormone-charged nights. At Camp Luft-Shawk, nicknamed Camp Love Shack, there are stories about a creeping fog that brings death with it. But here, they’re not just campfire tales. Here, the stories are real.

Twenty years ago, a girl’s body was found on a ledge above the lake, arms crossed over her heart. Some said it was part of a suicide pact, connected to the nearby Haven Commune. Brooke, Rona, and Wendy were among the teenagers at camp that summer, looking for fun and sun, sex and adventure. They’ve never breathed a word about what really happened—or about the night their friendship shattered.

Now the camp, renamed Camp Fog Lake, has reopened for a new generation, and many of those who were there on that long-ago night are returning for an alumni weekend. But something is stirring at the lake again. As the fog rolls in, evil comes with it. Those stories were a warning, and they didn’t listen. And the only question is, who will live long enough to regret it?

“Nancy Bush is my go-to author. Always.” —Lisa Jackson, #1 New York Times bestselling author

About the Author

Nancy Bush is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over two dozen romantic suspense novels, including Bad Things, Jealousy, and The Rafferty Family series, starting with Nowhere to Run. Along with her sister, bestselling author Lisa Jackson, she co-wrote Last Girl Standing, One Last Breath, and the Colony series, and she is the co-author of Sinister and Ominous, written with Lisa Jackson and New York Times bestselling author Rosalind Noonan. She originally started writing as a young mother, beginning with historical and contemporary romances, and later went on to develop her craft as a staff writer for ABC's daytime drama, All My Children. She now writes romantic suspense full-time and lives with her family in the Pacific Northwest. Readers can visit her online at NancyBush.net.

Praise for The Camp: A Thrilling Novel of Suspense with a Shocking Twist

Praise for Nancy Bush:
 
"Mystery and chemistry drive Bush’s riveting third River Glen romantic suspense novel. . . . The payoff is rewarding and the subtle romance between Mac and Jesse helps keep the pages flying. Series fans will be well pleased." —Publishers Weekly on The Neighbors
 
“Take a killer ride with this sordid tale of dark romance and twisted passions.” —Bustle.com on Dangerous Behavior
 
“A thrill ride…danger-filled novel of suspense spiced with romance…the suspense threads are masterfully woven in this gritty, chilling tale.” —Bookpage on NOWHERE SAFE
 
Bad Things spreads an important message about the #MeToo movement with a suspenseful twist that makes this an absolute must-read.” —SheReads
 
“Suspense is at the forefront, with great focus given to outlining all of the complex dynamics between friends, lovers, and family…Dramatic and tense, the book delivers as a thriller with dark hometown secrets filled with drugs, sex, and lies.” Kirkus Reviews on Bad Things
 
“Bush’s pulse-pounding thriller takes readers on a journey two decades in the making…Plenty of suspense and a dollop of romance gives this broad appeal.” Publishers Weekly on Nowhere to Run
 
“Fast-paced and thrilling! This book pulls you right along in a heart-pounding ride.” Suspense Magazine on Nowhere to Run
 
“A festering secret, a tragic suicide, and a vibrant assortment of characters – good, flawed, and totally rotten – keep the pot boiling in this guilt-ridden tale enhanced by a realistic Puget Sound setting.” Library Journal on Bad Things
 
“Will keep you guessing and trusting no one.  It is a fun read, especially for fans of scream queen horror movies of the late nineties and early 2000s.  The unbreakable bond of sisterhood, unrequited love, past and present high school drama, and small-town gossip fuel this cold case thriller toward a satisfying conclusion.” —Fresh Fiction on The Babysitter